AGORA : THE PUBLIC DOMAIN   |   WORD FROM THE DIRECTOR

AGORA : THE PUBLIC DOMAIN
Introduction: The Future of Public Space


"A city isn't just a place to live, to shop, to go out and have kids play. It's a place that implicates how one derives one's ethics, how one develops a sense of justice, how one learns to talk with and learn from people who are unlike oneself, which is how a human being becomes human."
Richard Sennett, The Civitas of Seeing (1989)



Montreal has a lot to celebrate in its vibrant urban life. As one of the world's great cities, opportunities here abound for urban spaces to do what they do best: serving as stages for political rallies, bringing people together in annual festivals, mixing the gazes of strangers of different cultures and classes. Centres of social gathering and political exchange, public spaces allow the city's residents to meet in a virtual agora of intellectual and social exchange.

But in the world at large - and even here - public spaces seem to be quieter than they used to be. The public meeting place has traditionally been at the heart of city life, forming the gathering spaces where we live, work, and play. However, modern public life is beginning to shift away from the squares, parks, and boulevards that form classic urban public spaces. In the age of urban bricolage, we attend this event or that place, compiling our identity by creating a ever-shifting palate of carefully selected, often socially homogenous places. We have the ability to design our urban experiences à-la-carte, customizing our surroundings rather than engaging the gritty mélange of public life head-on.

Montreal's Quartier International, university districts, and proposed Quartier des Spectacles cater to our desire for easily accessible spaces at a city-scale. The city is gradually becoming divided into bite-sized thematic morsels, each seducing patrons with matching banners and street furniture. Yet this new breed of public space tends to close its borders to street walkers, street vendors, street art - elements that might disturb the carefully stage-managed environs. An obsession with security drives undesirable elements from the old public spaces and parks of the city, whose beautification the city has invested in.

On the other hand, does today's public even want the old public spaces? Our preference for privacy and solitude has forged the success of the underground malls of consumer culture: anonymous and climate-controlled places where the cash register is central. Rem Koolhaas and his Harvard research group go as far as to suggest that shopping has replaced ancient forms of social life, around the world.

With our cities becoming consumer theme parks, where is the diversity and multiplicity of authentic public life to be found? What role should the traditional public spaces of our cities now play? Is it possible to locate -- or create - new forms of public domain that fit within our contemporary lifestyles?

The Biennale gathers some of the world's foremost visual artists, architects, urban designers, and landscape designers to respond to these multi-faceted questions - and raise new ones.

And you - the public - are invited to attend and participate.




 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 4
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
Contact : ciac@ciac.ca

AGORA : LE DOMAINE PUBLIC   |   MOT DU DIRECTEUR

AGORA : LE DOMAINE PUBLIC
Introduction : L'avenir de l'espace public


« La ville n'est pas simplement un lieu où habiter, faire ses courses et faire jouer ses enfants. C'est un lieu d'où on tire son éthique, où on développe son sens de la justice, où on apprend à parler avec des gens qui sont différents de nous et à apprendre d'eux, qui est la façon dont un être humain devient humain. »
Richard Sennett, The Civitas of Seeing (1989)



Montréal a fort à célébrer dans sa vibrante vie urbaine. Comme c'est l'une des grandes villes du monde, les espaces urbains y ont d'abondantes occasions de faire ce qu'ils font le mieux : servir de tribunes aux ralliements politiques, rassembler les gens dans des festivals annuels, mêler les regards d'étrangers de différentes cultures et de différentes classes. Centres de rassemblement social et d'échange politique, les espaces publics permettent aux habitants de la ville de se rencontrer dans un agora virtuel d'échanges intellectuels et sociaux.

Dans le monde en général - et même ici - les espaces publics semblent plus paisibles qu'autrefois. Le lieu de rencontre public a traditionnellement été au coeur de la vie de la ville, formant les espaces de rassemblement où nous habitons, travaillons et jouons. La vie publique moderne commence toutefois à délaisser les squares, les parcs et les boulevards qui forment les espaces publics urbains classiques. À l'âge du bricolage urbain, nous allons à tel événement ou dans tel lieu, composant notre identité en créant une palette toujours changeante de lieux soigneusement choisis, souvent socialement homogènes. Nous avons la possibilité de créer nos expériences urbaines à la carte, personnalisant notre cadre au lieu d'aborder de front le mélange cru de la vie publique.

Le quartier international, les quartiers universitaires et le projet de quartier des spectacles de Montréal répondent à notre désir d'espaces aisément accessibles à l'échelle de la ville. La ville se partage graduellement en morceaux thématiques cherchant chacun à séduire les clients par des bannières et un mobilier de rue à l'avenant. Ce nouveau design d'espace public tend cependant à fermer ses frontières aux promeneurs, aux vendeurs et aux artistes de la rue - éléments qui pourraient troubler les environs soigneusement régis. L'obsession de la sécurité écarte ces éléments indésirables des vieux espaces et parcs publics dans l'embellissement desquels la ville a investi.

D'autre part, est-ce que le public d'aujourd'hui veut même des vieux espaces publics ? Notre préférence pour l'intimité et la solitude a forgé le succès des centres commerciaux souterrains de la culture de consommation : lieux anonymes au climat contrôlé où la caisse enregistreuse est maîtresse. Rem Koolhaas et son groupe de recherche de Harvard vont même jusqu'à suggérer que le shopping a remplacé les anciennes formes de vie sociale dans le monde.

Maintenant que nos villes deviennent des parcs thématiques de consommation, où trouve-t-on la diversité et la multiplicité de la vie publique authentique ? Quel rôle devraient maintenant jouer les espaces publics traditionnels de nos villes ? Est-il possible d'établir - ou de créer - de nouvelles formes de domaine public correspondant à notre mode de vie contemporain ?

La Biennale réunit d'éminents artistes visuels, architectes, concepteurs urbains et concepteurs paysagers du monde pour répondre à ces questions à facettes multiples - et en soulever de nouvelles.

Et vous, le public, êtes invités à y participer.




 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 4
Direction générale et artistique
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021

Direction des communications
Tél. : (514) 845-1462
Contact : ciac@ciac.ca