AGORA : THE PUBLIC DOMAIN   |   WORD FROM THE DIRECTOR

WORD FROM THE DIRECTOR
The 4th Biennale de Montréal coincides with the 20th anniversary of the CIAC. We take advantage of this opportunity to celebrate these twenty years of cultural action in Montreal not only in visual arts, but also in architecture, video and performance. The anniversary will be marked by a retrospective publication about these years of intense artistic production and the birth and development of a cultural institution.

Since 1984, the CIAC has proposed eleven editions of the Cent jours d'art contemporain de Montréal, three editions of the Biennale de Montréal, seven editions of the competition Jeunes critiques en arts visuels, publications, and multiple personal and collective exhibitions presenting no less than 800 professional artists from here and abroad. All these activities have drawn more than 500,000 visitors.

In this 4th edition of the Biennale de Montréal, the CIAC is emphasizing public art, architecture, and the public domain. This edition will continue in 2006 for the field is broad and could not possibly be covered by a single year's presentation. We hope the permanent forum on our Web site will provide the basis of countless discussions and future achievements.

We wish to thank all the artists, architects and curators who have answered our call. Their work spurs us on and bears eloquent testimony to the creative strength of the human imagination. We also wish to thank our private and public partners who enable us to present works to the public. Without their support, these projects would not have seen the light of day.

The Biennale de Montréal is due to the efforts of a small team of devoted workers who share a considerable workload. We would be remiss if we did not note the professionalism of all those who have helped in this project by providing their advice, technical and logistical support. We thank members of the Board of Directors, the staff and interns of the Centre international d'art contemporain de Montréal for their dedication.


Claude Gosselin
Paul D. Leblanc




 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 4
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
Contact : ciac@ciac.ca

AGORA : LE DOMAINE PUBLIC   |   MOT DU DIRECTEUR

MOT DU DIRECTEUR
La 4e Biennale de Montréal a lieu en parallèle avec l'anniversaire des 20 ans du CIAC. Nous en profitons pour célébrer ces vingt années d'actions culturelles à Montréal en arts visuels, mais aussi en architecture, en vidéo et performance. C'est l'occasion de la sortie d'une publication rétrospective sur ces années intenses de production artistique et sur la naissance et le développement d'une institution culturelle.

Depuis 1984, le CIAC vous a proposé onze éditions des Cent jours d'art contemporain de Montréal, trois éditions de la Biennale de Montréal, sept éditions du Concours Jeunes critiques en arts visuels, des publications, ainsi que de multiples expositions personnelles et collectives réunissant pas moins de 800 artistes professionnels d'ici et d'ailleurs. Toutes ces activités ont permis d'accueillir pas moins de 500,000 visiteurs.

Pour cette 4e édition de la Biennale de Montréal, le CIAC met l'accent sur l'art public, l'architecture et le domaine public. Cette édition se prolongera en 2006 car le domaine est vaste et qu'il ne saurait être épuisé avec la seule présentation de cette année. Nous espérons d'ailleurs que le forum permanent sur notre site soit la base de nombreuses discussions et réalisations futures.

Nous remercions tous les artistes, les architectes et les commissaires qui ont répondu à notre appel. Leurs travaux nous stimulent et ils témoignent éloquemment de la force créatrice de l'imaginaire humain. Nous remercions également nos partenaires privés et publics qui font en sorte que les oeuvres puissent être présentées au public. Sans leur appui, ces projets n'auraient pu voir le jour.

La Biennale de Montréal est le fruit du travail d'une petite équipe dévouée qui se répartit une charge de travail considérable. Nous tenons à souligner le travail professionnel de tous ceux et toutes celles qui se sont engagés dans ce projet en fournissant conseils, aide technique, et soutien logistique. Nous remercions les membres du conseil d'administration, le personnel et les stagiaires du Centre international d'art contemporain de Montréal pour leur dévouement.


Claude Gosselin
Paul D. Leblanc




 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 4
Direction générale et artistique
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021

Direction des communications
Tél. : (514) 845-1462
Contact : ciac@ciac.ca